GSoC mid-iteration 2 updates!

I had to skip one Sunday blog of GSoC updates because my mentor and I couldn’t really catch up on time and I was a little confused about what to do next.

Anyway, the good news is that I was delaying by almost 10 days at one point, but as of today, I think we’re ahead of the schedule šŸ™‚

Here’s the TODO status for the past two weeks:

  1. Fix polymorphic comments ā€“ they are failing even though the models seem to be fine.
  2. Investigate why migrations are failing on production and try fixing that.
  3. Style Glitterposts.
  4. Allow users to follow each other.
  5. Fix the issues in the pull request caused due to rebase.
  6. Given a project, display its commit history.
  7. Facilitate going back in history and being able to view status at that point in time.

Polymorphic comments were failing because earlier, I had failed to determine what model any comment belongs to. Turns out that had led to other complications, which I was successfully able to resolve last week.

I just have to get over the laziness and write the CSS for the Glitterposts and the rest of the application. Most of the upcoming week’s activity is over, so I think this is just the right time to do so. I’m almost going to dedicate all of this Sunday coming up with a new design scheme. As for the user follower model, I have decided to fix that feature altogether for now, and will work on that when we’re making a user page. Without that, such a feature wouldn’t make a lot of sense.

As for the weird pull request, I could figure out what was wrong, although I couldn’t determine how to fix it. I spent an entire night at home, and both my mentor and I decided the best thing to do was to start the repo afresh. I’m hoping the stuff in the new pull request 23 please Emily and she pulls it in šŸ˜‰

The front end for the underlying git backend is good for what features we have now. People can view the history, and go back in time and view how glimages and other files were at that point in time.

As for the coming week and later, here’s what I have in mind:

  1. Write the tests if possible. I know I’m doing very bad BDD, but the learning curve is too high for the time I have in hand. I may need one of those productivity management books anytime now šŸ˜‰
  2. Prettify, prettify, prettify.
  3. Study up on the school stuff. Might as well do a few resourceful posts šŸ™‚
Leave a Reply

