Second week’s design+rails experience

Time passes so quickly! I find it so difficult to realize that the GSoC coding period starts tomorrow! πŸ˜€

While the official coding hasn’t started yet, I must admit I did learn a few miscellaneous things over time. Two months ago, I remember being utterly impatient for a summer like this. I’m so glad it’s finally happening! I’ve summarized the previous week’s adventures in this post.

I started the week by prettifying GlitterGallery.Of all the techniques I went through to explore the Rails framework, I think that one was probably the most satisfying. I certainly feel more confident about why the popular Rails development processes are done the way they are (although honestly there’s still a good amount of Rails goodness that I find to be almost magical and have no idea about).

Screenshot from 2013-06-17 00:49:56

I’ve changed the color scheme to a more bright summer special one.

I was just thinking, probably the best thing that could happen to me is to have a designer for a mentor. So this summer is not just a code adventure, it is equally as much a design adventure too! We just discussed about designers last week on Monday, and I’m sure there’s a lot more to happen along the way.

Out of curiosity, I also read a little about scaling. I’ve covered that here. That post isn’t extensive yet, I will definitely have to do a lot of research before it becomes one. At least I have a starting point πŸ˜‰ (As if things weren’t awesome enough, Emily is part of the OpenShift team, so I’m expecting to learn more about scaling from her as well.)

Coming back to Rails, I had a bad start again this week, but I finally ended up completing most of what I had planned! πŸ˜€ I had wanted to learn about secure and permanent authentication in depth, and I did. I have a pretty functional fun app here on my local server that I’ll probably deploy later this next week πŸ˜€ As a project intended to help me explore authentication, it surely did it’s job. πŸ˜› Additionally, I also bought a Railscasts subscription (now that I’ll soon have some of Google’s money πŸ˜‰ ). That was just yesterday, so I haven’t been able to do much with it already.

Here’s the TODO status for week 2

  • Build two rails apps. Static pages, User model, normal authentication. Once with help, again once without.
  • Allow signin/signout.
  • Store many textboxs per user, kinda like a blog.
  • Learn to authenticate via devise.
  • Work on GG user model by studying GitHub and other services. –> following, projects, all that.

Besides quickly finishing up on these, I also have to think about the next week’s plans (I think that deserves another blog post). I’m completely excited – this will be my first experience with Behavior Driven Development and writing tests. It looks like the first coding week will be a little strenuous – there’s quite some tests to write, and quite some software to break. But more activity = more fun! πŸ˜‰

Cheers to a crazy coding season!

One thought on “Second week’s design+rails experience

Leave a Reply

