Just what designers (and I) wanted.

So, I woke up early one morning just to see if I had any email. Thing is, this guy from South Africa got in touch with me and started explaining how he needs a few posters for some event he wanted to host. I really respect the passion he had for what he wanted to do (some kind of workshop). Apparently he’d stumbled upon my blog and found a few interesting posters.

He began by telling me more about himself, the event he wanted to conduct, and what role I had. He said he was working on a document that would contain every detail about it, and would forward it to me once he was done. I was home and hadn’t been up to much work recently, so I was all excited about this.

When I saw the email that morning, I was totally impressed. The way he had written the whole idea was so cool, I immediately started to fire my to-do list and note things down. He wanted full branding help, and I was getting all kinds of ideas – different types of logos, a colorful website, yada, yada.

I worked for a while on the ideas, striking off things from my list, taking screenshots, and attaching them all to this email I was composing now. I must have had about fifteen screenshots, with a little bit of description. I sent it to him, and had to wait for a couple of days till he replied. I was beginning to get worried now, I almost thought he didn’t like my work.

One evening after I returned home after a trip to the local Shopping Center, I sat down to check my email and was left annoyed. I had around 27 different emails, all revolving around the same thing. No wait, Twenty Seven! Two of his friends had joined the team as well, and all of them sent me varied feedback about the screenshots I’d sent them. I can’t blame them of course, but it was annoying. I had to read through every email and reply to it separately. Sometimes, I wished one guy knew what another guy sent me, and so I was forced to forward emails with my own comments.

Oh, and they demanded a lot of changes (of course).

Cutting the long story short, I couldn’t work with them for very long. I would blame everything on the collaboration. They had in fact added a few more designers to their team, and we had more ideas. But it just didn’t work out. All this sending volumes of emails and getting work done made me feel I belong to the stone age. Checking older revisions was hard. You had to search through scores of emails to find what you wanted. And I had to maintain multiple files for the same design, and my desktop was flooded with images. It was so unorganized!

Enter Glitter Gallery.

These days, I rely on a few tools to get work done, and unfortunately, none of them are feature complete. Asana, is one amazing tool for collaboration work, but it fails to store revisions and things like that. It’s more oriented towards work distribution in a team. I have switched to a lot of programming these days and find GitHub to be the perfect tool to manage revisions. I’m beginning to be an Open Source contributor, and I love it.

As a designer, I would love a tool that would give me the collaborative powers of Asana coupled with the Revision Maintenance abilities of GitHub. And that’s what Glitter Gallery aims to do πŸ™‚Β It aims to relieve the Open Source designer of the hassles of collaboration and maintenance, and helps her focus on what matters most – the designs.

In the next series of posts, I will attempt to realize the my understanding of how Glitter Gallery should come out to be, and I’ll try to supplement it with a few screenshots as well πŸ™‚

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

